Being Surprised and Learning a Lesson-Is never a negative thing in iDiplomia

The first week of our two-week program with Mr. Adams was started with a bang!

20170112_131027.jpgWe have been diving deeper in our innovator’s DNA, and have taken on several different ‘drills’ and mini-projects to do so.  Me and my partner Caroline when given the prompt HMW hack a space to better benefit the community at Mount Vernon, almost immediately thought of a way to redesign the lunchroom.  

 

Surprises…Oh, where do I start!

To start off in the beginning of the week we created a question web about a specific picture taken from somewhere around Mount Vernon.  To our surprise, Caroline and I came up with probably 20 questions. We found it easy to completely switch sides and make question off of the other person’s questions. Going for volume for me and Caroline was much easier than having to go for detailed and long thought out questions.  Another 20170112_131012surprise I found this week is how hard it is to stay on observation.  When Mr. Adams showed us a picture of a juggler and told us to observe, we had to be reminded a lot to comment on just what we see not question or inferences.  I never really knew how hard it would be NOT to make an inference about something, and I realized that I had started to combine the observe and questioning stage together.  

There was a surprise this week that resonated with me the most.  Mrs. Cureton told us that what if our idea for our problem is isn’t really the problem.  I have been told before about not booking on the first idea that pops into our heads, and why you don’t stop after having three ideas on a brainstorm.  I hadn’t realized that my group had still not thought about different problems or ideas but instead, laser focused on our own.  We were introduced to Multitracking, and it is where you use multiple ideas at once.

Lessons that I learned…and still learning upon!

20170112_124843I think a major lesson I learned this week is the power of interviews.  We did an exercise earlier in the week where one person was the critic and we had to design a poster that most describe a word that the critic choose.  When reflecting at the end the question was brought up on “did anyone think to ask our critic on what she defines the word as?” After hearing this the questioning and feedback part of Design Thinking started to have a whole new meaning for me. Now my question for interviews will become much more detailed, and shaped in a way to gain more than just a few word answers.  We used this interview step a lot when creating a new lunchroom design, and I think that my group progressively got better at asking a question to gain answers to our Rose, Thorn, Bud.  Another lesson that I learned also revolved around design thinking.  It is to care about our user more than our product.  We have been told this before but actually creating a product I saw how easy it was to stray from creating something that the people would love to something that I loved.  We were reminded when Caroline and I were talking about how much we loved our idea of redesigning the lunchroom to think about your user you’re designing for.  I learned that caring for your user more than your product will help you want to improve and your design, and not feel the need to defend it against negative feedback.  

I can’t wait to see what else I will be surprised by and learn about in the next week of going more into depth of Design Thinking and also our Innovator’s DNA.

 

Leave a Reply

